APRIL 9, 2022


Enrique Diemecke conductor
Brandon LePage flute

IBERT Flute Concerto
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 1, op. 13, G Minor

FSOLive for this performance is currently unavailable.

Jacques Ibert's Flute Concerto was written in 1933 for celebrated French flutist Marcel Moyse. Although it was generally well-received at its 1934 premiere, it gained increased popularity in later years. The concerto possesses a chamber music-like texture that enables the soloist to project— a common thread in Ibert's compositions for solo instruments with orchestra. Ibert sought to showcase the flute's individual and characteristic qualities. Ibert's Flute Concerto has it all from virtuosic running passages to tender, lyrical melodies and jazzy syncopations. 

Tchaikovsky wrote his Symphony No. 1, Winter Dreams, just after accepting a Moscow Conservatory's professorship at age 26. Although Tchaikovsky suffered insomnia and many sleepless nights writing this symphony, Winter Dreams is a celebration of Winter's romance. The movements take the listener on a journey through the chilly landscape, including Dreams of a Winter Journey, Land of Desolation, Land of Mists, Scherzo, and Finale. The music conjures a sled over fresh snow on a brisk winter morning, the warmth of a fireplace, and even a hint of spring from the flute's birdcalls. Winter Dreams transports the listener to another world, regardless of the current season.


Anonymous Donor 16

Guest Artist Sponsor
Howard & Rita Shand

For more information or assistance please contact The Ticket Center at 810-237-7333.

Covid Policies: Keep yourself and others safe.
Visit our website for our most current policies and protocols and refer to your pre-event emails for updates related to specific performances.