Enrique Diemecke conductor
Judy Lin Wu violin

SMETANA Vltava (The Moldau)
VIVALDI Le Quattro Stagioni (The Four Seasons)
GINASTERA Estancia: Three Dances

The Four Seasons, the best known of Vivaldi's works, is four violin concerti written about Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. Vivaldi represented various nature elements within the compositions, like singing birds, a shepherd, barking dog, buzzing flies, storms, frozen landscapes, and warm winter fires. It is the earliest and most detailed example of what would eventually be called program music, or music with a narrative element. Close your eyes and let Vivaldi's music take you on a journey through the seasons – all without ever leaving your seat.

Ginastera's Estancia's opening lines transport the listener to the Argentinian countryside, complete with riding gauchos (skilled horsemen) and farmers tending the land. Written in 1941, Ginastera's one-act ballet was derived from the poem Martín Fierro by José Hernández, a nationalist expression of the gaucho and commentary on the changes to rural life as a result of political and military struggle. The suite contains four movements: The Land Workers, Wheat Dance, The Cattlemen, and Malambo. The rousing final movement is inspired by the flamboyant malambo dance of the Argentine gauchos.


Drs. Paul and Barbara Adams
Dr. Kenneth and Nancy Lee Fawcett
Drs. Venkat & Rama Rao
Carolyn Stubbs and Susan Schneberger
William Hentgen

Guest Artist Sponsor
The Chan Family

For more information or assistance please contact The Ticket Center at 810-237-7333.

Keep yourself and others safe. The Flint Institute of Music strongly encourages mask-wearing and vaccinations to protect yourself and others against the spread of COVID-19. Visit our website for our most current policies and protocols and pay attention to the pre-event emails for any updates regarding your upcoming concerts. If you feel uncomfortable about attending or are not feeling well, contact The Ticket Center to discuss your ticket options.