November 12, 2022


Enrique Diemecke conductor
Pablo Diemecke violin

KORNGOLD Violin Concerto, op.35, D Major
BRAHMS Symphony #4, op.98, E minor

Die-Sir-E, composed by FSO’s own Enrique Diemecke, is a fun and interactive piece utilizing every orchestra instrument, the conductor, and even the audience! This piece was commissioned by Radio France Festival for the World Cup Final Concert in 1998.

Korngold’s Violin Concerto in D Major was the composer’s first classical work after retiring from film scoring, which supported him and his family after fleeing the Nazis during World War II. Korngold is considered the founder of the “Hollywood Sound” often associated with classic film scores.

Brahms’ Symphony No. 4 in E minor is the last symphony he ever wrote. The various string features throughout the piece feature the cello section, full strings, and a unique trombone choir in the final movement. The piece was controversial at its time of composition (1884), where classical music was on the precipice of 20th century experimentation – Brahms’ powerful Symphony No. 4 is a modern spin on a classic form, and feels familiar and exhilarating all at once.